Blog Challenge – Day 24 – A letter to your parents

In some ways I’d really rather not do this post. After the last letter-post drama I think I’d rather not do this one. However to avoid the same mistakes I’m going to try keep these letters all positive. There are perhaps things I would to say to a couple of my parents (I have 4, including the steps), that are somewhat negative. However there’s no point in dredging up the past so instead I’m going to try keep it a bit lighter-hearted.

Dear Melinda (Mum),
You’re the most hard-working woman I know. Despite me always complaining that you weren’t home in time for dinner, you instilled in me a belief that if you work hard enough, you can get anywhere.
You also taught me that the common way is not always the right nor the best way. That it’s okay to make it up as you go along and just to make the best of any situation.
You are the parent that I have spent majority of my upbringing around and although I don’t always agree with you, I still am very proud to call you my mum.
Congratulations on you’re engagement, I hope you’re relationship continues to bring you happiness and you stay together for the rest of your lives.
Love always Kat xxx

Dear Ingrid (Step-Mum),
You’ve been in my life for such a long time now and I can’t imagine you ever not being around. You are the most supportive person I know. You are so understanding and I feel like you always have my back. Above all, you’ve taught me true kindness. You’ve taught me to always do the right and honest thing no matter what. It doesn’t matter if it embarrassing, confronting or otherwise uncomfortable, if you believe it’s truly right then that’s exactly what you should do. I may not have the same strong faith as you but I’d like to believe I share your good morals and values. Thanks for caring so much and making such a tremendous effort to stay a part of my life.
Love you lots Katerina Kabina xx

Dear Lindsay (Dad),
There are some traits of you’re I’m very glad I did not inherit, such as your monobrow and severe allergies. But there are are others that I’m very glad were passed onto me. I’m not sure if it was nature or nurture, but either way, you’ve encouraged me to develop my mind. You’ve taught me how to argue well and question everything, you also taught me how to come up with a totally believable scientific explanation of how something works when really you don’t have the slightest clue. Thanks for always encouraging my passions, you’ve taught me to believe that I can do anything and that it doesn’t matter what other people may think or how hard it may seem, where there’s a will there’s a way.
Love and miss you, Kath xox

Dear Ken (Step-Dad),
Hi Kenny! I’m so happy you’ve become a permanent part of our family because I love spending time with you. I love your attitude of just getting things done and always doing your best to meet any of my silly requests. You’ve taught me to take no shit from anyone. That doesn’t mean you have to be selfish but just don’t let people walk all over you, it’s been an important and helpful lesson. I love hanging out with you and playfully ganging up on mum, you’re lots of fun to be around when your happy, you’re pretty scary when you’re mad, but at least I know I’ve got a loyal body guard!
Love Katty-Girl! xox

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

